Doom and gloom

What does the word gloom mean anyways. Sounds like fun to me. Gloom sounds like glow or glee. Anyways The stock market went bunji jumping this week. I didn’t buy on Monday as the’re was no good news. I didn’t buy on Tuesday because that wasn’t any better. I bought on Wednesday and by evening I was doing well. On Thursday I was kicking myself. Now today, Friday I am still kicking myself. I decided to buy on Wednesday while the two financial heads of the whole country were in a rare occasion together testifying before congress, causing everyone to run for them there hills. I failed to keep up to date on current events. If I knew those two were going to be speaking I would have waited until Thursday or even next week.

Other than Heckle and Jekyl speaking before Congress, the writers at Bloomberg used their influence to cloud men’s minds. One hour they said the housing market is down. Then the housing market eh, not so bad. Then its terrible. Then is great. I couldn’t make heads or tails of it. Bloomberg has to do better as one of the favored sources for financial news.

At the end of the day, I have no one to blame. I should have known Geitner and Bernanke would be speaking. I stepped out of my energy comfort zone this week and played with: CHLN, IOT, PEIX, ROIAK, VVTV. A mix of advertising, energy and housing(in China). Next week if things turn around I have a strong interest in GLGL and FCEL. The former is a producer of a natural sweetener that diabetics can use, the latter a Connecticut maker of fuel cells that run on gas(tre cool).

There is still some lucrative news. Israel has determined they can strike Iran without much blowback. I paid $4.05 for gas yesterday so I will probably revisit my domestic oil drilling companies WRES, GBR and PSTR. With sanctions getting tighter and the dogs of war rabidly foaming at the mouth, domestic fuel producers will get a lot of interest. See you at the crap table.

Leave a Reply

